Minecraft: Story Mode

Minecraft: Story Mode

Digital Release:PC, Steam, PlayStation 3, PlayStation 4, Xbox 360, Xbox One
October 13, 2015 (AU, EU, US)

Nintendo Wii U
January 21, 2016 (AU, US)
Delisting:April 2019 - Wii U (EU)
April 29, 2019 - Steam
May 03, 2019 - GOG.com
Late May 2019 - All Other Platforms (AU, EU, US)
Developer:Telltale Games
Publisher:Telltale Games
Available On:Digital:
Netflix Edition

Nintendo Wii U
PlayStation 3
PlayStation 4
Xbox 360
Xbox One
Links:Minecraft: Story Mode homepage


Minecraft: Story Mode and Minecraft: Story Mode – Season Two were delisted from Steam on April 29th, 2019. On April 30th, GOG.com Team Member, chandra, announced that the titles would be removed from GOG.com on May 3rd.

“Due to expiring licensing rights, Minecraft: Story Mode – A Telltale Game Series, Minecraft Story Mode – Adventure Pass and Minecraft: Story Mode – Season Two will be delisted from our catalog on Friday, May 3, 10am UTC. For everyone who purchased it prior to delisting, the game will remain in their GOG library.”

Until late May 2019 downloads remained available on all console platforms and mobile devices in North America. In Europe the various versions of the game were delisted only on Nintendo platforms (Wii U and Switch). As of May 31st, 2019 all other console versions of the game worldwide were confirmed delisted.

Also on May 31st, 2019, Minecraft.net posted a notice to players who may have purchased the Minecraft: Story Mode seasons advising them to download their content before June 25th.

“On behalf of the publisher, Minecraft: Story Mode – A Telltale Games Series, Season 1 and 2 will no longer be supported on June 25th, 2019. If you have purchased these seasons, please download all remaining episodes prior to the service being discontinued in June.”

This implies that episodes and seasons may not be re-downloadable after June 25th, even for those who had previously purchased them. This left the interactive Netflix adaptation of Season One as the only place to experience the series digitally until it was removed from Netflix on December 4th, 2022.

While expired licensing of the Minecraft IP from Microsoft and Mojang was part of the reason behind the delisting, it is also due to Telltale Games’ closure in late 2018.

About the Game

“The Order of the Stone are legends within the world of Minecraft. Having slayed the great Ender Dragon, tales of Gabriel the Warrior, Magnus the Griefer, Ellegaard the Redstone Engineer and Soren the Architect are renowned throughout the land.

But when the annual celebratory EnderCon gathering goes horribly wrong, it’s up to fan boy Jesse and his friends to take up the heroic reins and embark on a perilous journey to save the world. Do you have the courage to go beyond the Nether and the End in this epic quest?

What you say and do in the game drive the five-part episodic tale of Minecraft: Story Mode. Choose wisely, as your decisions carry over to each episode and can have shocking consequences…”

Select Video Coverage

Thanks to @MrFortyFive on Twitter for pointing this one out