Rocksmith to be delisted October 17th, all current DLC soon after [UPDATED]

Rocksmith to be delisted October 17th, all current DLC soon after [UPDATED]

[UPDATE 11/01/21] Ubisoft posted an update and clarification about Rocksmith DLC on October 25th. Their various support forum posts provide specific details but this sums it up: “Rocksmith (2011) DLC will be removed from digital storefronts starting in early November on PC/Mac Steam, Xbox 360, Xbox One, Playstation 3, and Playstation 4. All Rocksmith (2011) DLC will be removed from the PS3 storefront in Japan on November 1, 2021. More information on the Rocksmith (2011) and Rocksmith (2011) delisting can be found here. This corrects a previous statement indicating DLC on Xbox 360 would be delisted at the same time as Rocksmith (2011)”. Our original post from October 10th continues below.

Ubisoft has announced that Rocksmith (2011) — their very specific title treatment — will no longer be available for purchase on any digital storefronts starting October 17th. Unfortunately, they failed to mention if this also includes the separate releases of Rocksmith 2014 Edition (PS3, Xbox 360) and Rocksmith 2014 Edition: Remastered (PS4, Xbox One, Steam). The original Rocksmith was only available digitally on Steam and is currently still available alongside the 2014 update. With the upcoming Rocksmith+ being a live service release however, chances are good that all versions of the game will be removed from sale after this upcoming week. 

DLC songs and song packs will begin to be pulled in November with specific dates to be announced here, except on Xbox 360 where all DLC will be removed on October 17th. The full announcement made on October 8th follows:

While we’re excited to offer more information about Rocksmith+ in the future, we want to take some time to discuss news for the original Rocksmith. One of the unique aspects of the Rocksmith method has been the ability to learn and play along to official master recordings of your favorite songs. But as of October 17, 2021, Rocksmith (2011) will no longer be available for purchase on any digital storefronts. Shortly thereafter*, Rocksmith (2011) DLC will begin to be removed as well.

If you already own Rocksmith (2011) or any DLC from Rocksmith (2011), you will still be able to install, download, re-download, play, and use those products. You should experience no change or interruption in your access. If you do not own those products, you will not be able to purchase them digitally once they are delisted (removed from storefronts).

We couldn’t be prouder of what the original Rocksmith accomplished in the realms of both rhythm gaming and interactive guitar learning, and that first installment taught us an incredible amount about what guitarists and bassists expect from software that lets you play along with your favorite songs on a real instrument. It truly set the foundation upon which we’re still working to bring you the most innovative, interactive music learning experience possible.

“Can I still play Rocksmith (2011) on-disc songs or DLC on Rocksmith Remastered?”
Yes! If you have purchased Rocksmith (2011) and the Rocksmith Disc Import Pack (Xbox) / Disc Export Access (Playstation) / Disc Import Tool (Steam) or any Rocksmith (2011) DLC before their delisting, you can continue to play that content on Rocksmith Remastered.

“Are delisted songs being removed everywhere?”
Yes—when Rocksmith (2011) and any associated DLC is delisted, it will be removed from all digital storefronts, including Steam, the Xbox Marketplace, and the PlayStation Store.

“When will the delisting take place?”
Rocksmith (2011) will be removed from all digital storefronts on October 17, 2021, with DLC to follow over time*. Information on future DLC delisting will be posted here 

“I own Rocksmith (2011) on disc—will that still work?”
Yes! If you have previously installed the disc version of Rocksmith (2011) on your account, you will still be able to access your owned content. Product keys for Rocksmith (2011) that have not yet been activated will no longer work after October 17.

*With the sole exception of the Xbox 360 marketplace where, due to technical limitations, all Rocksmith (2011) DLC will be delisted at the same time as the full version of Rocksmith (2011) on Oct 17, 2021. Players on Xbox One, PS3, PS4, and Steam should refer to this link for information on when DLC will be delisted on those platforms.

The current Ubisoft forum post adds a few more specifics, promising more details on DLC delistings each month. For now the post states only that, “the following songs (and any song packs containing them) will become unavailable for purchase in November of 2021 (specific dates to come)”:

  • Lynyrd Skynyrd – “Free Bird”
  • Radiohead – “Bodysnatchers”
  • The Black Keys – “Tighten Up”
  • Boston – “More Than a Feeling”
  • Deep Purple – “Smoke on the Water”
  • The Allman Brothers Band – “Jessica”
  • T. Rex – “20th Century Boy”
  • Three Days Grace – “I Hate Everything About You”
  • Vampire Weekend – “Cousins”

Thanks to Wakayama_PT for poioting out the news. I’ve added the date to the Watch List calendar and will have a page up on the site eventually.