Killzone Shadow Fall Intercept

Killzone Shadow Fall Intercept

Digital ReleasePlayStation 4 – DLC
June 24, 2014 [North America]

PlayStation 4 – DLC
June 25, 2014 [Europe]

PlayStation 4 – Standalone
August 05, 2014 [Worldwide]
DelistingAugust 12, 2022 – PlayStation 4 – Standalone and DLC Server shutdown

Between August 12, 2022 to November 10, 2022 – PlayStation 4 – Standalone and DLC Delisting
DeveloperGuerilla Games
Available OnNone
LinksStandalone Release Store Page [Archive]
Main game store page, with DLC listings [Archive]


Killzone Shadow Fall Intercept, originally released both as a downloadable content pack for its parent game with the same name (sans Intercpt) and as a standalone title, was delisted from the PlayStation Network between the period of August 12, 2022 to November 10, 2022.
Originally starting with an announcement of the online servers for the game being shutdown via a Twitter post on the official Guerilla Games profile, there is no official mention of when a delisting would happen – instead it had been noticed by users online after the delisting had occurred.

The original announcement (which included other Killzone titles) post is as follows:


On 12 August 2022, online servers for Killzone: Mercenary, Killzone Shadow Fall (including Intercept Mode) and RIGS: Mechanized Combat League will shut down. Online features (including online multiplayer modes) will cease on that date. Single player offline modes remain available

Shutdown Announcement – Twitter – July 22nd, 2020.

Preceding any of the previous happenings, on July 21, 2022 users also noticed and reported on Intercept being added to the “Last chance To Play” section of PlayStation Plus Extra, precluding the subsequent shutdown & delisting.
Which while unusual for a first party developed game to disappear from its own subscription service, it is not unheard of.

As Intercept was an online multiplayer game mode, it became completely inoperable upon the server shutdown, making for a short period of months when the game could still be purchased but not played in any way.
Despite being able to play the mode solo after content updates, this did not allow for offline play – erroneously the notice added to the store page for the server shutdown stated “You will still be able to play and enjoy this game in single player offline modes.”.

About the Game


  • Genre – Action, War, Science-Fiction.
  • Gameplay Format – First-Person Shooter, PvE Co-op Multiplayer (1-4 players), Online Only.
  • Game Modes – Wave based survival.
  • Game Mechanics – Point scoring objectives, In match only currency and buyable items, 4 Character class customisable loadouts.
  • Hardware Compatibility – Backwards Compatibility – No enhancements (PS5).
  • Languages Supported: Text – Danish, Dutch, English, Finnish, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Swedish and Turkish.
    Voice – English, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish and Turkish.
  • Install Size – 10.74 GB.
  • Launch Price – DLC; £7.99/€9.99/AU$14.95. Standalone; £15.99/$19.99
  • Age rating – ESRB Mature (Blood, Language, Intense Violence, Online Interactions).
    PEGI 16 (Online, Violence).
  • Subscription service availability (PlayStation Plus Extra) – Starting; May 23, 2022 [Asia], June 2, 2022 [Japan], June 13, 2022 [North and South America], June 23, 2022 [Europe plus Australia and New Zealand]. Until August 11, 2022.

DLC Version:

Was originally included as part of the Killzone Shadow Fall Season Pass which also contained other gameplay and cosmetic unlocks for the main game’s multiplayer mode.

Game store description –
“Join forces with up to three friends and sign up for Intelligence Squad Alpha – a crack team of specialist soldiers working behind enemy lines to intercept Helghast military transmissions.

Fight as one of four classes the close-quarters Assault trooper, the mid-to-long range Marksman or the support-focused Medic or Tactician roles. Pit your squad against waves of attackers led by Helghast champions from the KILLZONE™ SHADOW FALL single player campaign. This co-op action features four arena maps inspired by locations from the single player campaign.”

Standalone Release:

A separate PSN Trophy list which added 5 trophies that were not avaliable in the Intercept DLC section of the main game trophy list – stats and progress towards trophies were cross compatible between both release versions, allowing a user to automatically unlock trophies earned in either purchase format when accessing the other.

References, sources and other links: